Annual Meeting 2018


View the video in a full window

This year the weather was perfect for an outdoor event in contrast to what we encountered last year which was one of the worst storm and flooding events in the history of LREC’s Annual Meetings. 

A total of  1,196 registered members attended this year’s annual meeting.  The total number of people attending the meeting was estimated to be 4,000, including the family members of the LREC members.

Eight candidates were running for the four open trustee positions.  There were two positions open for a two-year term and two other positions open for a three-year term. There were five candidates running for the two-year terms and three candidates running for three-year terms.  The top two candidates in each group are elected to the board.  The election results are as follows:

Two-Year Term
Bobby Mayfield 747
Lynn Lamons   626
Michael Moss 345
Chester Bailey 259
Liz McMahan   133 
Three-Year Term
Jack Teague 838
Scott Manes     805
Billy Bob Dougherty 394


Bobby Mayfield, Lynn Lamons, Jack Teague and Scott Manes were elected to the board.  The officers of the board are as follows: Bobby Mayfield, President; Scott Manes, Vice President; Lynn Lamons, Secretary/Treasurer; and Randall Shankle as Assistant Secretary/Treasurer.

This annual event brings a lot of people to Hulbert every year. A total of over $5,000 in the form of cash and prizes was given away.  The grand prize of $1,000 cash was won by Mary Wise of Hulbert. The first prize of $500 was won by Leda Whitekiller of Hulbert and the second prize of $250 was won by Pamela Wang of Peggs.

The prize for the oldest gentleman attending the Annual meeting went to John Meigs of Hulbert who is 90 years old.  The oldest Lady attending went to Mrs. Glennis Anderson of Tahlequah who is 90 years young.  The youngest boy attending was Jayce Raclosevich, seven months old, son of Jennifer Raclovich of Tahlequah and the youngest girl attending was Lemi Meredith, four months old, daughter of Janet and Matt Meredith of Hulbert.

 “LREC makes a difference because we are different.  We are member-owned and locally operated.  Members have a voice in how the cooperative is run because they elect the board of directors.  We are accountable to our member-consumers and not to distant stockholders.  Our rates cover the cost of doing business and are not marked up to generate profit.  And finally, we give the money back to our members, when revenues exceed costs.”, said Hamid Vahdatipour, LREC Chief Executive Officer.

LREC is a non-profit rural electric cooperative serving electricity to nearly 25,000 meters in seven counties in northeast Oklahoma, including Cherokee, Wagoner and Muskogee Counties.